Eh … not really

So, yesterday Obama appeared in the Rose Garden to crow about the success that is, as he will now call it, Obamacare.

With an I-told-you-so swagger, President Obama said Tuesday that 7.1 million Americans signed up for health insurance by Monday’s deadline – exceeding the original White House goal under Obamacare.

“In the first six months, we’ve taken a big step forward,” he said amid cheers of supporters in the White House Rose Garden. “The truth is even more want to sign up.”

Obama is a small man who derides his critics from high as if they have no legitimate gripes. Behold:

In his Rose Garden remarks, Obama offered stories of everyday Americans who had benefited from his signature domestic program. He then used those sagas to deride naysayers.

“The lengths to which people have gone to scare people,” he said, “I don’t get it. Why are people working so hard for people not to have health insurance? Why are they so mad about the idea of folks having health insurance?”

Funny, Obama doesn’t want to talk about stories such as this one, where the new two-midnights rule of the ACA directly lead to the death of a man. Read it please.

*******

But, amid all of this, one of the “GET COVERED” memes kinda got to me. It was the whole “you’re going to wish you had insurance if you break a bone” thing.

And this:

“Get covered now and save?” “Good thing you’re Covered?”

Only if you’re bad at math. Really bad at easy math.

Or- of course- if you’re not really paying for your health insurance because you’re on medicaid or a subsidy … in which case I’m paying for your health insurance. Then signing up (and not really “paying”) for insurance is a good deal!!! YEA FREE SHIT!!! Like these people:

*

So, a broken arm could cost $7,000 without insurance? What a joke.

My individual deductible is $7,500. And we pay almost $600 a month for that insurance (which, is much more expensive than our previous insurance, with worse benefits, but cheap compared to what some are paying). And, even this $hitty plan will go up in a year and a half.

So [does math] I’m only going to have to pay $14,200 for that broken arm. My deductible and my premium. Of course, at that point – after I break my arm – my deductible has been met, so if I break my OTHER arm, I’ll only have to pay the 20% co-pay. If I break TWO arms in one year, it will only cost me $15,520. You see this is where the real savings kicks in.

AWESOME!!!!

This isn’t “insurance”. This is pre-paid health care for services I won’t use. Well-baby visits are covered. Birth control. ROUTINE doctor visits – things that could be easily planned and saved for; although any tests they run? I’ll be paying for that.

So, by having “insurance” I only have to pay $14,200 if I break my arm.

Thanks Obama.

I also want to give a special shout-out to some of Obama’s useful idiots who filled twitter the last few days with “get covered” tweets. Pharrell Williams. Ellen DeGeneres. Sarah Silverman. Zach Braff. Kerry Washington. Will Wheaton. Rachael Ray.

All of whom are probably bad at math.

I’m sure I missed some, and I don’t want anyone to not be acknowledged. Please add in comments those I missed.

*$56 a month for health insurance? Sorry, chicky, you’re not paying for your health insurance. I am. Your $56-a-month probably isn’t even covering the wages of the paper-pusher handling your account.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

9 Comments on “Eh … not really”

  1. Car in Says:

    I pasted the same twitter link twice. It’s fixt now.

  2. Jimbro Says:

    So right. $56/mo is basically medicare rates.


  3. Michelle, or Rachael? Doesn’t really matter, since they are all idiots.

  4. Car in Says:

    LOL. Yea, I’m not a fan, but I’ll fixt it.

  5. Jay in Ames Says:

    30 minute meals, and 15 minutes for insurance!

    Wait, that’s GEICO. Sorry! She should stick to cooking.


  6. She ain’t that great a cook, but her line of bakeware is pretty good.


  7. For anyone who pays taxes, they will be paying “extra” for insurance every time they get a paycheck – not theirs, of course; someone else’s. But it’s invisible, so the illusion will stand….

  8. Lipstick Says:

    “In the first six months, we’ve taken a big step forward,”

    I think he meant “A Great Leap Forward”.

  9. Jay in Ames Says:

    I think he meant “A Great Leap Forward”.

    Awesome reference! Maybe Teh Won will sign your Little Red Book!


Leave a Reply

