You’d think …

That Lady Ga Ga wouldn’t be so protective of “her” song since she stole it from Madonna. The sound, the idea, the everything. But whatever.

Weird Al on Lady Gaga acting like a thin-skinned prima donna. Long story short, he asked for permission before he wrote it. She wanted the lyrics. He WROTE the lyrics. No good enough, she needed to hear the recorded song, so he recorded it. Then she simply said “no.”

My parodies have always fallen under what the courts call “fair use,” and this one was no different, legally allowing me to record and release it without permission. But it has always been my personal policy to get the consent of the original artist before including my parodies on any album, so of course I will respect Gaga’s wishes. However, given the circumstances, I have no problem with allowing people to hear it online, because I also have a personal policy not to completely waste my stinking time.

Of course, I always though Lady Gaga WAS a parody …

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

10 Comments on “You’d think …”


  1. Maybe its the old grouchy guy in me fighting his way to the surface, but the first time I heard the name “Lady GaGa”, I thought “This is a person who has no desire to be taken seriously.”

    Then I finally heard one of its “songs”, a realized that if it was really as popular as I had been lead to believe, WE. ARE. DOOMED.

  2. Car in Says:

    DOOOMED.

    Yes. We are.

  3. beasn Says:

    Little blurb says she finally gave him permission.

    Okay then. I decided – based on my belief that people are basically good – to go through the trouble and considerable expense of actually recording the song.

    And therein lies his problem. Some people are basically good. A lot are not.

  4. Car in Says:

    The blog post says that she needed to hear the recorded version before she’d approve it. She didn’t approve him actually putting it on the album.

    I guess he always tells the artists he’s doing a parody and makes sure they are ok with it before he goes to all the trouble of writing/recording.

  5. PCachu Says:

    Update: She did finally get to hear it, gave it the Whatever-She’s-Doing-This-Week of Approval, and the song is now going onto the next album, “Alpocalypse”, due this June.

    Turns out LGG’s manager had decided to speak on her behalf in this matter, and wasn’t forwarding Al’s messages to Her Gaganess.

  6. Car in Says:

    Well, I wonder. It did make her look bad. She could be just saving face.

  7. JD Says:

    Car in – could you email me?

  8. JD Says:

    I do not have yours, or cannot find it.

  9. Car in Says:

    I emailed you with the one registered with comments … the “sportscon” one. That’s the only one of yours I have.

    My email is Carinrose@sbcglobal.net


Leave a Reply

