My $0.02 on Egypt

I am thinking from the way things are looking in Egypt now, we dodged a bullet. Here is why.

1. Mubarak is out of power and Egyptian military has installed the man they want. I feel that is certain.

2. Omar Suleiman is well respected and would be a good president. The Military approved this message. This dodges the radical’s taking over part, this keeps the military in charge and things stable. Everyone but the radicals likes stable.

3. (Rampant speculation alert) The way I see it it will go one or 2 ways, Omar Suleiman assumes role of President, starts initiating reforms. If he is smart he will open up the economy. The Egyptian system suppresses private economic activity as well as political expression. If the people like the new economic freedom he will be reelected President.

Or he starts political reforms that is where it gets dicey. I think the safest bet there would be to restore the powers taken away from parliament in 2005. Perhaps elect or appoint a new Prime Minister, or just announce that he will be sharing powers with Ahmed Shafik, like Mubarak is supposed to be doing now. That would build some good will with the people in the streets.

The less safe bet is announce new elections, throw the dice, see what happens.

The wild card is what does the Egyptian military want? I am guessing they want to remain the silent power that they are. Well liked by the people. I do not think they are wild eyed radical extremists, and that is a good thing for the Egyptian People and the world.

Explore posts in the same categories: American Idol, Bob I'm TOTALLY OUTRAGED, Global Warming, Hair On Fire, liberals, people suck

4 Comments on “My $0.02 on Egypt”

  1. Car in Says:

    That’s optimistic.

    But I don’t know if the Muslim Brotherhood is going to be satisfied with that. If Iran really is behind this, democratic reform isn’t what they want.

  2. Car in Says:

    I mean, I hope that happens. That sounds like the best possible outcome.

  3. Vmaximus Says:

    It does Carin, but as it has worked out, I think the military has cut the brotherhood out of the equation.
    There are multiple wildcards out there, however this looks like the likely outcome to my uneducated mind.

    Feel free to push this post down. I am sure you have one made already.

  4. Car in Says:

    No, you put one up, I’m resting on your laurels for a bit 😉


Leave a Reply

