FIAF

Obama’s bold healthcare plan was going to rescue 375,000 people with pre-existing conditions who were unable to get insurance. Starting July of this year, people could enroll.

Health insurance availability “saved or created” so far? 8,011 nationwide.

Mr. Obama declared at the time that “uninsured Americans who’ve been locked out of the insurance market because of a pre-existing condition will now be able to enroll in a new national insurance pool where they’ll finally be able to purchase quality, affordable health care—some for the very first time in their lives.”

So far that statement accurately describes a single person in North Dakota. Literally, one person has signed up out of 647,000 state residents. Four people have enrolled in West Virginia. Things are better in Minnesota, where Mr. Obama has rescued 15 out of 5.2 million, and also in Indiana—63 people there. HHS did best among the 24.7 million Texans. Thanks to ObamaCare, 393 of them are now insured.

Now, I’m sure those 8,011 are grateful. But we were told that one of the more pressing reasons to undo and screw-up our entire HEALTHCARE system, was because there were untold number of folks unable to get insurance.

That so few have grabbed this lifeline suggests that the reality of pre-existing conditions isn’t nearly as grim as the President continues to claim. A shelf of academic research says the same thing, by the way.

This lifeline is designed to operate at a loss. That’s the only way folks with pre-existing conditions can be covered by insurance. It’s like signing up and paying $100 for auto insurance premiums after you’ve already wrecked the car. That $100 isn’t gonna go far in defraying the cost the insurance company is now forced to pay out.

But HHS won’t take this for an answer, so this week it said it will cut premiums by 20% and expand benefits for this program in 2011 to encourage more people to enroll. In other words, HHS plans to make its cut-rate insurance even cheaper (and thus more expensive for taxpayers) so it can avoid having to admit that the President’s claims about a nation of the indigent sick denied insurance were false. This wouldn’t be the first time that one government failure begat another.

Can’t wait.

Now, for the music:

And this one:

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

41 Comments on “FIAF”

  1. OceanCat Says:

    8,012. My adult son, and his pre-existing condition, are now back on my healthplan, where he’ll remain until he’s 26. It was cheaper that way. I’m sure there are others who obtained care other ways.

  2. Sean M. Says:

    My adult son, and his pre-existing condition, are now back on my healthplan, where he’ll remain until he’s 26. It was cheaper that way.

    Are you aware that your son’s coverage raises the premiums of other people who paid for their own insurance coverage? Or that his coverage until he’s 26 will cause some small business owner to fire an employee or five?

    Like you give a shit. You got yours, and that’s all that matters, right? Somebody who “makes” $250K per year is a bad guy, after all.

    Good luck getting a job from someone who makes less than that, asshole.

  3. Car in Says:

    Yea, my health insurance premiums went up almost two hundred dollars a month.

    When do I get a thank you? They’re going up again soon.

  4. OceanCat Says:

    Yes, I’m an asshole. I know you would have preferred if my son were to just die-quickly from lack of affordable healthcare. That’s the conservative healthcare plan for the poor: don’t-get-sick-and-please-die-quickly.

  5. Car in Says:

    $200 a month. Out of the mouths of my kids.

    The line has been crossed Ocean. I’m sick of seeing better dressed (and hair done, nails things I can’t afford to get done) people in line in front of me buying with foodstamps.

    I’m just fed the fuck up.

  6. OceanCat Says:

    What about corporate welfare? You OK with better dressed corporate billionaires sucking off the taxpayer’s titty?

  7. xbradtc Says:

    Ocean, I’m about as heartless an asshole as exists on the planet. And I don’t want your child, adult or otherwise, to die quickly, nor slowly.

    But I can think of better ways to provide health care for your child than bankrupting the entire country.

  8. OceanCat Says:

    But I can think of better ways to provide health care for your child than bankrupting the entire country.

    Do tell. Don’t hold out on us. A young adult with a chronic serious medical condition has a snowball’s chance in hell of surviving in America with our current employer-based healthcare system and no gov’t assistance or regulations forcing insurance companies to cover them.

  9. Car in Says:

    What about corporate welfare? You OK with better dressed corporate billionaires sucking off the taxpayer’s titty?

    Nope. I’m not down with that either.

    I’ll go first:

    End farm subsidies.

  10. MCPO Airdale Says:

    A young adult with a chronic serious medical condition has a snowball’s chance in hell of surviving in America with our current employer-based healthcare system and no gov’t assistance or regulations forcing insurance companies to cover them.

    What a load of bovine excrement. It’s amazing that you are able to dress yourself.

  11. xbradtc Says:

    Ocean Cat, given the 8012 people who seem to think this was important, I’m guessing it would have been cheaper to just cut checks to them rather than completely ruin the insurance industry.

    Of course, it isn’t really insurance, which is a hedge against future risk. It’s a cost sharing industry now.

    What I really had in mind was charitable giving:
    http://tinyurl.com/398pw2

    I’m aware that number at the link is inclusive of a lot of non medical charitable giving. But charitable giving to medicine and hospitals is a big slice of the pie. Heck, my sister makes a good living soliciting donations.

  12. xbradtc Says:

    Oh, and by the way? The reason I can’t afford health insurance is that any insurance plan I’d try to purchase is suddenly more expensive, since I’m required to cover the costs that you and your family are running up. If I could join the risk pool I want, that is, low consumers of health care, with high deductibles, and only coverage for catastrophes, my premiums would be low enough that I could afford health care.

    So ironically, in an effort to make health care more affordable to all, you’ve pushed me out of the market. And when I inevitably need health care, I’m either going to be a loss for a private charitable hospital, or stick the tab to the government. And that will drive up other people’s costs. So you’re not only fucking me over, you’re fucking over a lot of other people.

    Thanks, OC.

  13. Large Richard Says:

    OC,
    I am a heartless asshole of the worst sort, a small business owner.
    I beat my employees twice a day and have the company logo branded upon their tiny foreheads.

    Now, with that said, you could simply euthanize the poor lad and stop with this ridiculous notion of having children while packing sub-par DNA.
    You obviously knew your genetics were far below standards of any living race, yet you chose freely to play the odds all the while certain you knew you were going to lose.
    Seriously, if you’re so liberal, why didn’t you simply abort this lesser being just before birth?
    That would’ve saved time, money, and this conversation.

    Spend more of your available time in front of a tv watching soaps like the rest of your parasitic ilk.

  14. Hotspur Says:

    OC, since you are cool with carrying your child as a dependent until he is 26 , please correspondingly acknowledge that he doesn’t get to vote until he is a real adult.

  15. OceanCat Says:

    End farm subsidies.

    Awesome idea. I’d love to see it happen.

    Next idea:

    Get rid of tax exempt status for religious institutions.

  16. Herr Morgenholz Says:

    I’m sick of seeing better dressed (and hair done, nails things I can’t afford to get done) people in line in front of me buying with foodstamps.

    Me too. Haven’t had a mani- or a pedi- in ages.

    It’s true, though. Nothin’ like taking your Steak-ums and SuperSaver Waffles and standing in line behind three carts full of your money.

  17. Car in Says:

    wesome idea. I’d love to see it happen.

    Next idea:

    Get rid of tax exempt status for religious institutions.

    You seem a tad confused.

    Tax exempt is not the same as a subsidy.

    although I do understand your lack of understanding regarding the difference, since most of the lefty media seems to equate the two.

  18. Car in Says:

    Some people have confused things such as the mortgage deduction with welfare. So, I mean, I’m not blaming you.

  19. xbradtc Says:

    Get rid of tax exempt status for religious institutions.

    Car in notes one aspect of your stupidity but kindly omits noting another. The power to tax is the power to destroy, and hence would run afoul of 1st Amendment protections of the freedom to worship.

    Indeed, the crown’s taxation of Catholics and other religious sects was the direct impetus for the inclusion of freedom of worship in the Bill of Rights when we ratified our Constitution.

  20. OceanCat Says:

    The gov’t can tax the profits of corporations that call themselves churches without infringing on first amendment rights.

    But I know the sacred cow that is religion. We dare not touch anything that interferes with the wild delusions of those under the influence of godsy-fantasies. Better to rail about the brown folks ruining the country with mani-pedis. God knows fancy hairdos are the undoing of the middle class.


  21. OceanCat, if “free health care” is what you’re looking for, kindly move somewhere else where your intellectual betters can make all the decisions for you, and all you need to worry about is the six-month waiting list for treatment.

  22. OceanCat Says:

    I’m not looking for free healthcare. That’s quite an ignorant assumption on your part. I PAY for my healthcare. I PAY taxes. I believe helping people with pre-existing medical conditions obtain health insurance they wouldn’t otherwise be able to get is a good use of my tax dollars. It keeps them OUT of the emergency room for non-emergent conditions, which wastes my tax dollars.

  23. xbradtc Says:

    Why do you concern yourself with the money that goes to churches? It’s not your money. What do you care what people do with it?

    Do you think you have a right to dictate what I do with my money?

  24. Sean M. Says:

    The gov’t can tax the profits of corporations that call themselves churches without infringing on first amendment rights.

    Um, I’m not a tax lawyer or anything, but I’m pretty sure that religious groups of any sort that claim tax-exempt status have to be non-profit organizations.

  25. OceanCat Says:

    Um, I’m not a tax lawyer or anything,

    Yes, that’s obvious.

    Google is your friend.

  26. xbradtc Says:

    Then try using it, OC.

    Religious organizations are non-profit entities.

    But again, why do you care so much about someone else’s money? Do you bug your neighbors about how much they make? Do you feel the right to just take a few bucks out of their wallet from time to time?

  27. Car in Says:

    Prove it, OC. You didn’t make a point there. Tax exempt religious status has rules.

    See here.

  28. OceanCat Says:

    Google non-profit versus not-for-profit. Churches can (and do) make plenty of profit and if they are violating tax laws (which many of them do by participating in politics), they should lose their tax-exempt status…but they don’t, because religion (specifically christian religion) is a sacred cow in this country.

  29. xbradtc Says:

    Answer my question, please, OC

  30. Car in Says:

    Bullshit. That’s an accusation. How bout some proof? You know, and actually link?

    Of course, I’ve always noticed that black churches in Detroit are able to get pretty involved in politics with no repercussions. Of course, you know what party that benefits, right?

  31. OceanCat Says:

    I don’t care about your money xbrad.

  32. xbradtc Says:

    Yeah, OC, you do. You want me to subsidize health care for you child, and then you want to tax the money I voluntarily give to my church. Keep your hands off my wallet.

  33. xbradtc Says:

    OC, where are you?

  34. Vmaximus Says:

    Ocean Cat PAYS TAXES!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    She deserves health care! and a free house! and Free gas! and free food!

    Damnit I pay taxes!

  35. MCPO Airdale Says:

    Don’t forget OC’s free puppies and unicorns!!

  36. Sean M. Says:

    Free Skittles!

  37. Vmaximus Says:

    Free Booze! Free Weed! Free Hookers!

    I pay Taxes! I deserve it! You owe me what ever I want!

  38. TGSG Says:

    heh, fun

  39. Hotspur Says:

    Thus far the White House has handed out 111 Obamacare waivers, up from 33, and rising. Why? Because they know that it is a job killer.

    When the legislation hits my company, assuming the Supreme Court doesn’t do the right thing and strike it down, every one of my employees gets a raise equivalent to what I pay for their health insurance, and I cancel the policies. Or I just close up shop and retire.

  40. Eddie The Bear Says:

    OC is just another race baiting fuckstain who wants us to pay for her to leech off of the work of those of us who actually have jobs and have to suffer from seeing our taxes go to lazy welfare mooches such as her and call it “justice”.

    And after the silence from OC and the other leftists from Ted Rall’s call to kill his opponents in an armed revolution, I no longer have any sympathy or desire to hold back from those who want to steal from me because I actually have a job and have been responsible in my living.


Leave a Reply

