Let them eat grated root vegetables

Michael Pollen explains how to eat local, when you live in a climate with a short growing season.

WSJ: How do you suggest people in New York or other places with a long winter eat seasonally?

In much of the country eating seasonally in winter is challenging, though there are options people overlook. A salad of grated root vegetables, for example, is a refreshing change from lettuce, and far more nutritious. But it all depends on how hard-core you want to be. It’s not an all-or-nothing proposition.

Yea. Challenging. And root veggies don’t last all winter – they last a bit, and then they get nasty. I don’t remember my local farmers market selling locally grown rutabaga and potatoes in February.

Of course, I’m gonna be rich as soon as my chickens start laying eggs:

Eight dollars for a dozen eggs sounds outrageous, but when you think that you can make a delicious meal from two eggs, that’s $1.50. It’s really not that much when we think of how we waste money in our lives.

I much prefer fresh stuff when it’s available, and the local stand knows me pretty well. But that stand just started selling stuff a few weeks ago, and by mid-way September it closes up.

After that? I’m hitting the produce shelfs of the local grocery store.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Let them eat grated root vegetables”

  1. Car in Says:

    LOL. I saw that but I was too lazy (this morning) to edit.

    I suck, huh?


Leave a Reply

