Chicken coop stuff

It’s not done, but here’s what we’ve got so far.

Here’s were it sits in the middle of our verggie garden. It doesn’t have the cedar shingles on it yet, but the chickens don’t care. Their run is on the right.

Here it is closer up. You can see the nesting boxes, with lid, on the left. They can go underneath the coop as well which they like to do during the day.

Here’s a bit of the inside with our rooster.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

13 Comments on “Chicken coop stuff”

  1. MCPO Airdale Says:

    Sweet! And your veggie garden is looking good!

  2. Car in Says:

    It’s a bit ragged in that picture, but I figured I’d better take it while I had the camera out.

  3. pajama momma Says:

    I LOVE IT!! Are you doing the deep litter method inside the coop. I think that’s really interesting about the blackberries and might just sneak them some a time or two. I’m gonna have to figure out how to let the chickens go where the goats are, but not vice versa. Chickens need and love grass and veggies.

    Awesome coop Carin!! Thank you SO much for putting up the photos.

  4. Car in Says:

    Yep, deep litter.

    Last night I tried to see how many blackberries on chicken would eat (the rest were in the coop and didn’t realize it was treat time) – that chicken had blackberry juice running down it’s beak.

  5. Hotspur Says:

    OMG, Carin, HotBride would kill for that garden and your chickens, and coop.

    Well done.

  6. Car in Says:

    Hotbride can come and frolic in my garden any time.

    thanks 😉

  7. clintbird Says:

    Your garden looks very nice, Carin. Good job.

  8. pajama momma Says:

    Ok, so one more thing, I was showing PJD your coop just now and we were both curious, do you free range your chickens in the garden?

    I’m curious because we’ll be setting up our area at the new house and am trying to get some ideas.

    Like I was saying earlier, I’d like the chickens to have an area that they can get their leafy greens, but without the goats getting in their because they’ll demolish it.

    I wasn’t sure if the chickens would totally destroy your garden. I’m STILL cracking up at the blackberry thing. You’re going to have a very gold yolk because they have so much access to fruits and greens.

    When they start laying, do a blind taste test with the kids, they dig it, and there really is a difference.

    Not that I’m bossing you around or anything, but DO IT!! ;)oh, check it out http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?pid=1054260&id=1644532038&ref=mf

  9. Andy Says:

    Nice chicks! Carin, this comment has nothing to do with chickens, even though I love them, have raised them, and could watch them for hours on end.

    I wanted to tell you that I FINALLY FOUND YOU! I guess I lost your blog when you moved. My bad. It seems that one of your visitors/friends “JW” accidentally dropped your blogoname yesterday as the way he came to be a visitor/friend of mine. I’m guessing JW is a “he,” but could be a “she,” I really don’t know, so no offense to JW either way.

    I was just thrilled to know that we had a common visitor. So, I asked “JW” for further info about where to find you. The reply was quick, along with a link to your current virtual home. I’m so glad that “JW” gave me your URL. I’ve got it in my Reader now, and promise I won’t act like “teh stoopid” guy that once left comments at your place.

    Just thought I’d let you know.

    BTW, my wife once won a blue ribbon at the LaPlata County (Colorado) Fair for her Rhode Island Reds…

    Just sayin’…

  10. Car in Says:

    Cool, Andy- welcome back 🙂 And, Blue Ribbon … so I know where to go for questions!

    chickens are so cool.

  11. Car in Says:

    Peej – we’ll let them free range the garden once “the season” is over. Otherwise they’d prolly just eat everything up.

    They have a nice sized outdoor space, but not much left in it now. They made short work of it. But we try to give them lots of stuff.

    They can’t “free range” because they’d be “free dinner” to the dogs.

  12. OceanCat Says:

    Nice. But it’s a lot of work to shovel chicken shit. I keep my birds in a tractor coop, which gets moved each day to a clean space with fresh vegetation. No shoveling. Is it too late to put some wheels on that coop?

  13. Car in Says:

    I just shovel it to a compost pile. Once the garden is all harvested, they’ll have free range in there- and that’s a nice big space.


Leave a Reply

